“Freeforms”. Brush Calligraphy Workbook

Viktor Pushkarev
3 min readFeb 7, 2023

--

“Freeforms” is a collection of over 1300 Cyrillic letter forms written with a brush pen on a 40-page long e-book. The purpose of this workbook is not to teach you the basics of calligraphy, but to allow you to look at letters more thoughtfully, encourage you to study, and, more importantly, practice writing.

🔸 Buy it here: https://mynameisviktor.gumroad.com/l/svobodniye_propisi

Overview

First of all, I wrote “Freeforms” for my personal needs. It is based on the cursive Cyrillic forms called “Skoropis.” I wrote these letters as a practice after working with very strict, often monotonous letters. These letters were a breath of fresh air for me and I got very engrossed. The final result became an ebook with handpicked letters and 40 completely handwritten pages.

Details from the book
Writing letter “Л” from the book with standard brushpen

Despite the word “workbook” in the title, you will find no obligatory or strict requirements for repetition here. I would like that the results of your analysis and repetition of these letters will lead you to the thought: “Oh, I could write this letter like that? Wow!”.

Writing letter “Л” from the book with Apple Pencil

I filled each page with as many letter options as possible, some of which may seem strange and unusual. This was purely intended: we can take standard alphabetical forms, play with them and give them their diversity, liveliness, character, and playfulness.

The written forms have much in common with old-Russian cursive letters. This was important for me as all my artistic work is related to traditional Slavic culture.

In addition to the main letters written with a brush, there are also monoline letterforms that I wrote with a liner. Such letters can become a source of inspiration for your everyday writing. Repeating these forms will give you a greater sense of the line — that’s what I focused on during development.

In one of my articles, I mentioned that “Freeforms” significantly boosted my calligraphic style’s development. I believe that similar projects, which are done primarily for oneself, become a landmark in the development and self-awareness of a creator.

🔸 Buy it here: https://mynameisviktor.gumroad.com/l/svobodniye_propisi

To the next article
To the contents.

--

--

Viktor Pushkarev

I am experienced illustrator and font designer. Instagram: @mynameisviktor