Black Ustav script

Viktor Pushkarev
5 min readFeb 7, 2023

--

Intro

Vika and Vita Lopukhiny are incredibly talented and world-known Ukrainian calligraphers and designers. In 2016 Vika Lopukhina gave me as a present a fantastic calligraphy tool that made her calligraphy teacher Vasiliy Chebanik. I was so flattered that I created a calligraphy project directly connected to this cola pen.

First things first.

What actually is Cola Pen?

It’s a calligraphy writing pen that can be similar to a standard wide nib but with some unique additions, such as a high level of line width variations and the ability to create expressive splashes and splatters. Each cola pen is unique since it’s mostly a handmade instrument, but from time to time, you might find a model that is made in multiple copies.

Such is the cola pen that was created by Vasiliy Chebanik. The cola pen’s nib is slightly flexible since it’s made from a tin can.

Black Ustav

During the cola pen’s test drive, I created my variation of Ustav with extraordinary appeal since it has a certain gothic feeling. However, it is still close to traditional Cyrillic forms. Since I’ve wanted to share publicly, I’ve created a small animated guide on how to write such letters.

I’ve named it Black Ustav since it might resemble the aesthetics of modern Gothic blackletter but with traditional Cyrillic Ustav letterforms.​​​ Below, you can see the comparison of traditional Ostromir Gospel’s Ustav and my Black Ustav. The proportions are different, contrast is almost the same. Still, I would like to point out the expressive splashes that, at first glance, might look trendy, but they are aesthetically connected to these forms for sure.

Ductus

In calligraphy, a ductus is the direction, number, and sequence of the strokes that work together to create a letter. Since Ustav is a Cyrillic calligraphy branch, I didn’t have the guts or skills at the moment of creation (2017) to create a Latin variation of these letterforms. Yet, that I might do someday, but there’s a chance you might do it better! In this showcase, I’ve animated every letter variation of Black Ustav.

In these calligraphy guides, the order of the strokes is not a final instruction for writing since everything depends on how and with what you write. Always pay attention to your writing instrument! For example, you will not create authentic expressive cola-pen splashes with a brush or pen. But with cola pen, you can not create a pleasant-to-eye form that is done with a broad brush.

--

--

Viktor Pushkarev

I am experienced illustrator and font designer. Instagram: @mynameisviktor